Fichte’s Views on Revelation

So I’ve decided I’m going to read Johann Gottlieb Fichte’s first published work “An Attempt at a Critique of all Revelation”.  From what I’ve read in a book review in the Kantian Review Vol 16 Iss 2 pp315, Fichte’s view was that revelation has a an almost evolutionary or safety valve effect on morality.  Fichte divides the world into 2 different spheres, the natural world and the moral world.  The in this way I believe the natural world to be that which effects us in everyday life and the moral world to be our true teleological calling, our endpoint to which we are striving.  Essentially what Fichte is saying is that revelation plays a role in mitigating our teleological drift.  Through revelation we are able to understand what our most beneficial path in life is.

Due to my syndrome though I’ve been reading a lot about dreams and revelation has a new meaning than it used to for me.  I used to have no problem believing that revelation could come in a dream state, and I still don’t.  However, for a while I was having hypnagogic dreams.  I would be laying in bed too tired or dumb to get up and then I’d pass out for about 2 minutes.  During those 2 minutes I would have the most fascinating practically lucid dreams.  I would sometimes have a few in a row.  They were actually the bright spot in my day at the time.  I’ve come to find out that those were actually temporal lobe seizures and they were far from beneficial.

I have experienced beneficial revelations though and I would say those generally come with a sound mind.  I understand there are many that are proponents of using psychadelics for transcendental experience but I feel that finding that experience within one’s self is much more satisfying.  It doesn’t give one’s power to experience transcendence or the greater whole to another entity.  You maintain sovereignty of your thoughts and feelings.

Which brings me to Fichte’s second point.  He believes that religion does exactly what I’ve stated drugs can do.  They are a way of trying to find the moral law that is inherent within us in an outside entity.  This gives authority to something other than ourselves thereby ensuring, to some extent, that we do not find the moral law which must be found within us.  This is not absolute however (in my opinion at least and I’m fairly sure in Fichte’s opinion as well).  One can use religion as a guide as long as one does not let it take away one’s free will or personal connection with life.  Of course if one is willing to give away one’s sovereignty to religion he/she is probably also willing to do so with society.  This calls into question the individual’s ability to even to recognize the moral law or to come back into accordance with it since genuine revelation is discounted, in my opinion, within mainstream society.

For what it’s worth I believe genuine revelation comes from a GENUINE seeking from the truth outside ego and manipulation.  There is a phrase in ‘Telepathy’ by Derrida which states that telepathy is found in the interruption of the psychoanalysis of psychoanalysis.  This interruption must also be present between people who have a relationship that is close according to Derrida.  In my mind this means a relationship that is a teleological imperative.  It leads towards the beneficial endpoint, the point at which we are being drawn and drawing ourselves to, and therefore manifests itself within our material world.  It can be visceral but to me it does not seem other worldly.  It is an out of place shiver, a sudden realization, the uncovering of a real insight, the clear headed realization of something that one has been looking or hoping for.  It does not seem out of place, perhaps I am only myself, but it is transcendental.

I probably had something else to say, I’ll add it later.

