Amygdala

So it turns out the health of the amygdala is promoted through the uptake of tryptophan, at least with regards to it’s communication with the prefrontal cortex.  Lucky me tryptophan is found in turkey, chicken, cottage cheese, eggs, dairy, and yogurt.  These are all things I’m apparently allergic to.  Even better news, there is tryptophan also in sesame seeds, sunflower seed, beef, cashews, fish, and pistachios.  Since I’m not allergic to those, and I was thinking of making tahini today, I’m pretty happy.  Thank god I found something that might begin to help control that.

Dr Oz apparently has an old Indian remedy for calming the amygdala.  You take 1 teaspoon lemon juice, 1 teaspoon ground ginger, and a half teaspoon of honey, taken 3 times per day.  Sounds like a good idea.  Wish me luck.

